Aung San Suu Kyi

Myanmar State Counsellor

Aung San Suu Kyi

Myanmar State Counsellor


Daw Aung San Suu Kyi was born in 1945 in Yangon, Myanmar.

In 1988, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi was one of the founding members of the National League for Democracy. She served as General Secretary of the party until 2011, and became Chairperson in 2012.

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi was held under house arrest between 1989-1995, 2000-2002, and 2003 to 2010.

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi was elected to the Lower House of Parliament in by-elections in April 2012, representing the constituency of Kawhmu in Yangon Division. Between 2012-2016 she chaired the Lower House Rule of Law and Tranquility Committee. She was re-elected as MP for Kawhmu in the general election in November 2015.

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi became the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for the President’s Office in March 2016. In April 2016, she also assumed the role of State Counsellor.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded Daw Aung San Suu Kyi the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991, citing her non-violent struggle for democracy and human rights. In addition, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi has received more than 100 awards and honors from across the world.

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi holds degrees from the University of Delhi, University of Oxford, and the University of London.

All sessions by Aung San Suu Kyi


17:15 - 17:45
Back to previous page